2022 Montana Pro Rodeo Circuit Finalist Maggie Poloncic

Which horse(s) are you taking to the finals? What are their lifetime earnings? Ain't Seen Her Yet aka "JJ" - $64,000

What is unique about their personality and what are their strengths? JJ is still fairly green when it comes to the rodeo atmosphere, but she seems to handle everything like she's seen it before. She reads all types of different ground well and has a lot of self preservation.

When did you start competing in barrels? I started competing lightly when I was 10 or so, but became moser serious about it after I graduated college in 2013.

Do you raise your own horses? Or do you purchase? Are you looking for specific bloodlines?
I like to find nice weanlings and raise them from there. We have started dabbling in the breeding side of things and in the future would like to primarily ride horses we have bred.

What are your conditioning and workout routines for both you and your horse(s)? Since I only had one horse competing this year, the conditioning routine looked a lot different. I gave her as much rest as possible between rodeos with some light tuning between runs. My personal routine hasn't changed much, I'm still in the gym 5-6 days per week.

When you're headed to the rodeo what do you listen to: inspirational podcasts, music, audio books? Podcasts and music are my go-to on the road.

Do you have favorite spots to stop at while on the road?
I like to stop at very local places on the road. Little towns in Montana have great hospitality and we like to support those who support the rodeos.

Who do you travel with (including pets or companion horses) and in what kind of rig?
Most times I travel alone with my dog Chloe. From time to time my dad or mom will jump in with me. I still have my trusty 2002 three horse trailer with no living quarters.

What are your favorite memories/highlights and obstacles you faced getting to the 2022 circuit finals? This year was much different for me in terms of competition as my great mare Puff was out with injury. I had to call on an unseasoned 6-year-old mare that had barely been halter broke by the time she was 3. However, she very much rose to the occasion and placed nearly everywhere I took her. It was not my expectation to qualify for the Circuit Finals, so I'm very proud of this horse for accomplishing that.

How do you juggle family life while on the road?
Being single with no kids makes being on the road less complicated. I admire people with family and children who make it happen.

What are your hobbies or other sports you compete in?
I love to read and write. Fitness is also a passion of mine.

The Run Down
Saddle: Robbie Philips
Pad: Three Forks Saddlery
Leg Gear: Ortho Equine front boots and bells
Bits: Futurity O-Ring made by No Hit Bits
Feed: Free choice grass, alfalfa morning and night, Renew Gold, soaked beet pulp shreds, EO3 Oil, Orthomax, and Gastro Phix.
Additional Care: Micro current therapy, ice, poultice and standing wraps, PEMF, Equilume light masks
Sponsors: Equilume